Posted by: Marie | December 16, 2013

(898) Liebster Award

Post #898

Liebster Award

I have arranged my life in such a way that my time is filled very full with meaningful activities. And, there is one particular activity that I would love to do more of . . . but, I have purposefully chosen to not do it on a regular basis simply because it is far enough down on my list of priorities that the activities higher on my list of priorities push it out of my schedule.

I’m talking about the pleasure of reading other people’s blogs . . .

I know . . . it is one of the top blogosphere “no-no’s” to write a blog but then to not read and comment on other people’s blogs. However, I have felt, for several years now, a calling to capture and publish my journey so whoever needs to read it can read it. It has never been my intention to gain a large readership or to become “famous” . . . it has always been my intention to simply put my story “out there” so it can be of service whenever and however it is needed, whether now or in the future.

I struggle to not get too far behind in my publishing . . . I’m currently 17 months behind . . . I’m keeping up with my journaling, but I am that far behind in my publishing. I believe publishing my story is more important than reading other people blog’s . . . I don’t have time to do both, and that is why I have purposefully chosen to not read other people’s blogs on a regular basis.

However, every once in a while, when I have a few minutes before I need to close my eyes and put my head on the pillow, I will click over to someone else’s blog and read a post or two . . .

A couple of weeks ago, I did just that and discovered that my friend, Evan, had just suffered the loss of his father. I sent him an email expressing my condolences . . . and learned that his mother died, also, just a few months ago.

Evan has been a long-time supporter of my blog . . . he has walked beside me almost from the inception of my blog. He faithfully reads my posts and comments on a regular basis . . . he is often the only commenter. I often write with him in mind as an audience . . . his support has meant so much to me over the years and I consider him a dear friend.

Of course, Evan has been on my mind a lot during these past two weeks. Before going to bed last night, I decided to jump over to his blog to see if I could get an idea of how he is doing . . . and I discovered that he has passed along an award to me . . .

liebster-award2

It is called the Liebster Award (liebster means ‘dearest’ in German) and it is to be given to blogs with small readership that have had a meaningful, positive impact on the life of the person bestowing the award. So, I am very honored that he chose to give the award to me.

A part of giving the award is to ask ten questions of the receiver so that the receiver can share a bit more about themselves and so the giver can learn more about the blog’s author. Here are the questions Evan asked of me and my responses:

1. If you were emperor of the world for a day (or a week) what would you do?

Phew . . . that’s a very big kingdom! It seems a day or a week would not really be enough time to make effective wide-sweeping changes, so I would probably walk down a random street and meet people . . . spend one-on-one time with a few individuals. . . sit with each of them for a few hours and hear their stories . . . see if there is some little thing I could do for each of them that would affect their lives in a big way . . .

2. If you could set up a philanthropic foundation what would it be for?

Something with kids . . . something that would give kids a safe place to hang out with caring, loving adults who treat them with respect and dignity and care.

3. What is the biggest change you would like to your life? (If none why?)

I have to laugh at this question, given the fact that my life has been changing dramatically (for the better) in the past four or five months . . . all the changes I would like to have happen right now are happening right now . . . so, I really can’t identify anything I would like to change further, at least, not right now . . .

Maybe the change I desire is to have less change for a while!

4. What is the biggest change you would like in the world? (If none why?)

This is something I feel is already happening . . . I would like the frequency of the overall vibration of mankind’s thoughts and actions and feelings to continue rising.

5. Is there a piece of clothing you would like to have?

Um . . . no. Clothing is something I give little thought to . . . pretty much, if I’m comfortable, I’m happy.

6. What is your favourite song and/or style of music? Can you say why?

My favorite music is meditative music . . . my all-time favorite artist is Peter Kater, who just happens to live nearby in Boulder. I often find myself reaching for meditative music because it encourages me to feel calm and focused . . . it causes me to feel that all is well.

7. What gives you the deepest satisfaction?

Composing music and then sharing it.

8. Would you share a pet hate; something that you find weirdly irritating even though it is trivial in the grand scheme of things?

Sharing kitchen space with people who don’t rinse the dishes well before putting them in the dishwasher.

9. Do you have a sense of vocation? If so; what is it, and how did you find it?

Demonstrating to children in practical ways that they matter . . . I found it by teaching piano to kids and realizing that so many children have no sense of value . . . and by learning that I have the ability to directly impact that belief.

10. What is the most fun for you?

Going for a long hike on a beautiful Colorado day.

———

And now, I get to pass along the award . . .

There are two blogs that I have found to be very helpful in my own journey . . .

One of them is Evan’s blog, Living Authentically . . . but I’m not sure that it is kosher to turn around and give the same award to the person who gave it to you . . .

So, I’m going to leave it up to Evan to decide if he would like to do anything further with the repeated receipt of the award or if he would prefer to simply accept my appreciation for his ongoing support and for the non-conventional wisdom he shares via his blog.

The other blog is authored by David Rochester . . . actually, he authors two blogs that have been very helpful to me as he has documented his own journey and insights. His writing is very personal and very honest . . . and his self-awareness is breath-taking. (Unfortunately, access to his blogs is by invitation only.)

If either of these men would like to answer any or all of the ten award-related questions from me, here they are:

1. What was your last dream or nightmare about?

2. If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

3. What are you most proud of about yourself?

4. Are you rich?

5. What do you have on your refrigerator door?

6. Do you sing in the shower?

7. What noun do you say/write the most?

8. If you could bankrupt one person or organization, who/what would it be?

9. Do you believe in ghosts?

10. Have you ever milked a cow?

Quotes 808


Responses

  1. Hi Marie, I’ve had a think. I think that being reawarded is rather nice. It will probably be a day or two before I can do the post.

  2. Thank you, Evan, for taking the time to answer my questions . . . the main thing is that I wanted you to know that I appreciate all you do for me and for the blogosphere!

    • Thanks Marie, I’m glad I’ve contributed to you. (Not sure about the blogosperhe – mine is a very low traffic blog in the grand scheme of things.)

  3. Hello, dear Marie–this is as good an opportunity as any to let you know that although I’m not blogging regularly right now, I still check in to read about your journey, and continue to be so honored to watch your courage and determination, as well as your profound ethical commitment to changing the world around you in a positive way. Since I’m not over at Quotidian Vicissitudes much anymore, I will answer your questions here:

    1. What was your last dream or nightmare about? Well, the last dream I remember was from last night, and it was about trying to go to the theater with the cast of “How I Met Your Mother,” with perhaps predictably frustrating results. I think there was something in there about a mouse and a roll of toilet paper, but I don’t recall the details, which is probably a good thing.

    2. If you could live anywhere, where would it be? I really like where I live now, and I don’t have a desire to move anywhere else.

    3. What are you most proud of about yourself? I’m proud of my unwillingness to ever stay stuck or static. My feeling is that change is not only something to embrace, but something that must be actively sought. This isn’t to say that there aren’t things in my life that are stuck–certainly, there are. But I know they’re stuck, and I chip away at them from every angle I can think of, and sooner or later, some part of the problem breaks off or breaks open. I don’t just sit back and say, “Well, that’s just how it is.”

    4. Are you rich? It depends on the definition. I consider myself to be immensely fortunate in all aspects of my life.

    5. What do you have on your refrigerator door? Magnet clips holding concert tickets, a bottle opener, a letter from a ghostwriting client, a wedding invitation to a wedding that happened last year but I keep forgetting to throw it away, and a couple of cartoons.

    6. Do you sing in the shower? Nope.

    7. What noun do you say/write the most? Cat!

    8. If you could bankrupt one person or organization, who/what would it be? Even if I could, I wouldn’t, because of collateral damage to other people who might be innocently associated…and also because getting rid of one asshole doesn’t really solve anything. Assholery abounds…the key, I think, is figuring out how to create compassionate, proactive community to help people who are victimized by predatory people/companies/governments. That being said, it wouldn’t break my heart if major reform happened in the pharmaceutical/drug industry.

    9. Do you believe in ghosts? Yes.

    10. Have you ever milked a cow? No, but I think I’d be good at it.

    • Hi, David –

      I’m glad to know that you are still reading blogs . . . I have often wondered about that . . . and wondered how you are doing . . .

      I’m so glad you saw the award and I’m honored you took the time to answer the questions! I laughed out loud when I read your answer to #10 . . .

      Thank you for popping your head up here! I look forward to seeing evidence of you again someday!!

      – Marie


Leave a Reply

Categories

