Posted by: Marie | October 1, 2013

(867) Good news, I think

Post #867
[Private journal entry written on Tuesday, June 12, 2012]

I received an email from Fianna today and it was also addressed to Lisa, the lady who played the concertina the evening we had an Irish music jam session . . .

Fianna said they had been evacuated on Saturday evening but had warning on Friday that they would likely have to evacuate. So, they had plenty of opportunity to get ready to evacuate. She said she had gotten her harps out, and her horses . . . a few personal items . . . and that she and her husband, and her horses, were all staying at her daughter’s house closer to town.

Her email continued with:

My son sent me an internet link to an aerial view of my house taken by Channel 7 at 5pm yesterday. I can see the house standing and, while there is lots of smoke and ground fire has burned some of the neighbor’s property, it appears that everything is okay. A real miracle since the fire started directly behind my mountain and a little to the north.

Thank you both so much for your concern! You have no idea how much I value our friendships, short though they may be! It was so wonderful to play with you and for you and I will always treasure it.

Lisa – have a fabulous time in Ireland and give my love to Stoney and Paddy, whom you will meet, and of course, to Luke.

(Editorial note: Lisa is going with Luke on his guided tour of Ireland just as Fianna did last year.)

Marie, that was such an experience meeting your students and Mom; I had a wonderful time.

Take care, both of you and thanks again, Fianna

I hope she is right about her house . . . I hope that little piece of the fire has died down, at least . . .

I was rather surprised at how appreciative she is for the little bit of friendship we have shared . . . it’s unusual to be appreciated like that, but it is nice!

I sent a response:

Hi, Fianna –

Oh . . . I’m so glad you got you, your husband, your horses and your harps to safety . . . I have been wondering about all of that!

And . . . it sounds like there is still hope for your home! I have a very hard time imagining what it would be like to be faced with what you are facing. I’m glad to hear the upbeat news. Keep me posted, okay??

– Marie

And Lisa responded with:

Fianna,

Thanks so very much for getting back to me with such an informative and warm email. I am so relieved to hear you, your animals, and your harps are out of harm’s way! And I hope and pray your home remains intact. This fire is so unpredictable! I can leave on my journey to Ireland now with a lighter heart knowing you are OK.

I will get in touch with you when I get back on the 25th. Take care and stay safe.

Lisa

I forwarded Fianna’s update to Luke (Of course, my only motive is to keep him up to date, LOL). Within a few hours, I got a response:

Dear Marie,

Dr. Seaward has left for Ireland.

I am his personal assistant answering emails.

I will place the black chair you left at his house on his front porch behind the stone pillar. It is quite safe there until you arrive.

Please feel free to come by and pick it up at any time.

I will pass along this message to him.

Sincerely,

Camilla Black
Personal assistant to Dr. Seaward

Oh . . . well, that’s interesting!

I responded:

Hi, Camilla –

Thank you so much for the quick response! I wondered if maybe Luke had left for Ireland ahead of the group!

Actually . . . I don’t live very close to Luke’s house, so I wasn’t planning to drop by for the chair right now . . . it would take more gas for the trip for that purpose alone than the chair is worth, LOL! I was mostly seeing if he still had it (and it seems he does).

However, I will be down in that area on the morning of Tuesday, July 3rd sometime between 8am and noon (most likely around 9am). Would it be too much to ask for you or Luke to place it on the porch that morning (or the night before)? I can call or email the day before to remind whomever . . .

Please let me know if that will work . . . thank you in advance!

– Marie

And her response:

Dear Marie,

Look for the Black Chair to be set out in the designated spot on July 3rd.

Many thanks….
Camilla

After confirming the chair pick-up plan with Camilla, I sent an email to my mom asking if, in order to accommodate the chair pick-up, we could leave a bit earlier on July 3rd . . . that is the day I will be driving her down to Denver so she can meet up with my cousin and travel with him and his wife to a family get-together over the July 4th holiday on the western slope of the mountain range. (I’m not going because there are a hundred alternative ways I’d prefer to spend my day off.)

I also updated my mom on the status of Fianna’s house. And, I reported to her that we were experiencing heavy smoke in my town today. (That is significant because my town is a good 30 miles, at least, from the fire.)

My mom responded that we certainly could leave early enough to pick up the chair. She also said that she had learned through Facebook that her friends had all made it out of the canyon and off the mountain and were safe with friends and family. However, the area around their homes had been hit hard by the fire . . . they didn’t know yet if their homes had survived . . . or if they had survived so far, if they would survive the next wave of fire. (Wild fires often run up and down canyons more than once over the course of a big fire.)

Quotes 777


Leave a Reply

Categories

