Posted by: Marie | June 2, 2014

(936) Open mouth, insert foot . . .

Post #936
[Private journal entry written on Saturday, August 25, 2012 – midday]

I spent this morning doing stuff around the house . . . I got my laundry going . . . did a little bit of cleaning . . .

About 11am, I started cooking fish fillets for lunch in my little toaster oven . . . my “kitchen” is actually just a wet bar in the main room in the basement. I have a little sink, and when I moved in, there was already a microwave and a dorm-size frig there. Then, I added a toaster oven, a set of hot plates and dorm-size freezer. So, while it is not a full-fledged kitchen, it serves my day-to-day needs just fine . . .

Anyway, I put some fish fillets in the toaster oven . . . ten minutes later, I came out to flip them . . .

As soon as I opened my bedroom door, I was hit with the incredibly strong scent of men’s cologne, or maybe aftershave . . . phewy! I mean, it might have been a pleasant scent if it weren’t so overpowering . . . but, oh, my!! Neither of my housemates wears perfume or cologne, so I figured something must have happened . . . maybe they were sorting or moving around old boxes and a bottle broke . . . something . . . man, it was strong . . .

(277)

Photo by Martin Chen

I flipped the fillets . . . went back into my room . . .

When I came back out a few minutes later . . . the smell was even stronger . . . it was so strong I thought it must be coming from somewhere in the basement . . . but, I hadn’t been aware of anyone being down in the basement other than me . . . what could have happened . . . ?? I have a relatively dull sense of smell, so if I’m smelling it, it has to be really strong!

I walked over to the bottom of the stairs . . .

Now, the common space upstairs is one big room, and the same is true for the common space downstairs. Then, the stairway is simply a big hole cut in the floor in the middle of the upstairs common space. The staircase is open with just railings and a banister on either side. So, smells and sounds are quite free to travel from downstairs to upstairs, and visa versa . . .

The smell was much stronger at the bottom of the staircase, so I knew it was coming from upstairs . . .

I could hear someone – either Erik or Susan – moving around upstairs . . . so, in a somewhat joking manner, I yelled out, “Hey, what is that smell? It smells like aftershave, maybe . . . did you guys break a bottle of it or something?”

I heard a bit of muffled laughter . . . since neither Erik or Susan are quiet people, I thought maybe they were off in one of the bedrooms and maybe had not heard me . . .

So, I yelled the same thing, only louder . . .

Then, from a location almost right over my head, Erik stated in a low voice, “Um, we have a guest . . . ”

Oh . . . . . SHIT!!!!

I heard an unfamiliar male voice say, “It’s going on eight hours ago that I put on my cologne . . . I sure hope you can’t smell it all the way down there . . . ”

I tried to back-peddle . . . I said something like, “Oh, I bet it’s something down here . . . maybe some cleaning supplies got dumped or something . . . ”

But, nothing I could say could make it any less obvious that I had just inserted my foot into my mouth big time . . .

I was so embarrassed . . . and I’m sure Susan and Erik – and especially their guest (who turned out to be an insurance salesman) – were all absolutely horrified . . .

I had laundry in the washer and dryer upstairs that needed tending . . . but there was NO WAY I was going upstairs again until the guy left . . . I was too embarrassed to show my face . . .

I suppose I should have walked up the stairs and apologized face-to-face . . . but, I just couldn’t . . .

An hour or so later, I heard the guy leave . . . I tentatively stuck my head up through the staircase hole and asked if it was safe to come out of hiding . . .

Erik responded that it was safe . . . I came up the rest of the way . . . apologized profusely . . .

Erik told me that the smell was indeed coming from the sales guy . . . he said that when he opened the door to let the guy in, the smell of his cologne about knocked him over . . . he pointed out that maybe it was a good thing I said what I said because it needed to be said . . .

Oh, my . . . I’m not sure how long it will take me to restore my foot to its normal position . . . but, I will have to admit, as I’m writing this, I keep cracking up, laughing . . . it was funny . . . in a horribly embarrassing way . . . but still funny . . . to me, anyway . . . you know, in a hilariously uncouth way . . .

(007)


Responses

  1. Maybe he’ll adjust how much smelly stuff he uses and make more sales!

    • I suspect some of his previous sales were “easy” because people were thinking: If I buy something, will you leave?? LOL

  2. OMG… Have I really reached the end of the line of posts?? Well, I must say this last post was really funny :) I’ve read from post #1 to this in about a month (maybe a month and a half…). I’m really impressed with the progress you’ve made, and I’m finding the reading of your blog very helpful with my own issues. You are amazing, really, really amazing :) I wish I’ll be able to take a leaf out of your book and heal some myself :) greetings!!

    • Hi, CcyC –
      I’ve been watching as you’ve moved through the posts . . . there is not much traffic from your country, so it was pretty easy to know when you’ve been reading.
      That is quite an accomplishment to read that much material . . . I’m very impressed! Especially since [I’m guessing] English is not your first language.
      Maybe you could start writing your own journal so you can pass along your own amazing story to those coming behind . . . ??
      – Marie

      • Well, thanks for the congratulations but I don’t think I really deserve them… it’s not much of an effort, really, it’s actually part procrastination, part compulsion, part amazement at your journey. About writing myself, I don’t think it’s a great idea. I’ve been feeling suicidal the last couple of days, but I because of previous experiences, I’m convinced that sharing my views about it online would take other suicidal people closer to making an attempt at it, and not really help me at all. I’m happy with reading, and your blog shines a ray of hope, or, well, it has shone the imagined image of a ray of hope in a dark place where light only exists as a blurred out memory. Sorry, I’m rambling… I’ll keep reading in silence and not be a bother anymore :) greetings!

        • Feeling better now… thought I’d let you know :) I’m not here to scare anyone XD greetings ^_^

          • Hi, CcyC –

            First, please let me apologize for not staying on top of the comments on my blog . . . I’m afraid my blog is lower in priority than many other things going on in my life so it can be days, or even weeks, before I have a chance to respond to comments.

            I am sad to read that you are struggling with thoughts around suicide . . . I understand far too well what that is like and it is really tough to deal with. I trust that you are doing what you can to find help, or at least a trusted friend to talk with . . . or maybe some self-care, the best you can manage . . . ??

            I appreciate that you followed-up with a second comment . . .
            You are welcome to comment anytime . . . it is good to hear from you . . . I am interested in what is happening in your life. Thank you for reaching out!

            – Marie

            • :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

