Posted by: Marie | December 28, 2013

(910) The value of clarity – Part 1 of 7

Post #910
[Private journal entry written on Friday, August 3, 2012]

Today was therapy session day . . .

I woke a bit earlier than normal and spent a couple of hours working on my computer before I headed over to City #1 for my session with Edward . . .

While I was working on my computer, my cat kept getting up in my face, asking for his breakfast. I don’t like to feed him ahead of schedule because then he asks for his next meal even earlier . . . I make him wait until his meal time . . . he thinks I’m such a meany!

Anyway, since the cat was in my face all morning, my allergies were acting up . . . I’m actually allergic to cats . . . but, I love my cat so much that I just tolerate the symptoms . . . however, the symptoms can get pretty annoying when he hangs out near my face for a block of time, like he did this morning . . .

So, when Edward and I got settled in our respective places in his office and he asked me how I was doing, I mentioned that my allergies were acting up this morning and that I might need his box of tissues for more than just crying . . .

————–

Edward: Do you know what you are allergic to?

Me: My cat . . .

Edward: You’re allergic to your cat?!?!?

Me: Yes . . .

Edward: Why would you have a cat if you’re allergic to them?

(252)

Photo by Martin Chen

Me: When I got my first cat, I didn’t know I was allergic to them . . . and by the time it became obvious, I was already in love with her and decided I would tolerate the symptoms just because I couldn’t fathom the idea of getting rid of her . . . and she was with me for 16 years . . .

When she died, I decided I wouldn’t get another cat because I didn’t want to continue taking allergy medicine on a regular basis. But then, this cat was a rescue and he needed a place to stay for a month until his adoptive family could take him, but then that adoption fell through . . . I decided to keep him until they could place him elsewhere . . . but six months went by and they couldn’t find a home for him . . . by then, I had fallen in love with him . . . so, I adopted him . . .

I truly didn’t mean to get another cat . . . but, he chose me . . .

My allergies are acting up more today because I was working on my computer for a couple of hours this morning and he keeps getting in my face when he wants to be fed . . . that’s easy for him to do when I’m sitting at my computer . . . I’m a captive audience . . . so that kicked off my allergies . . .

And . . . by the way . . . the project I was working on this morning on my computer is my “to do” plan for this upcoming year . . . and, I had the TV on in the background . . . I was watching Court TV . . . I like watching it because it doesn’t require my full attention, I can have it on in the background and periodically tune in to what the announcer is saying . . .

Edward: So you’re a fan of Court TV?

Me: Yeah, I have been an avid fan since they first went on the air maybe 20 or 25 years ago . . . I discovered them within the first day or two of their launch . . . I really enjoy hearing about the different court cases . . . in fact, I’ve often toyed with the idea of becoming an attorney . . .

Edward: Why haven’t you?

Me: The idea of it doesn’t inspire me enough to go back to school for that long . . . I have no desire to go back to school . . .

Edward: Do you not like school?

Me: I like learning . . . and school was always easy for me . . .

I don’t really value formal education . . . degrees don’t impress me that much . . . and I feel I can learn whatever I need to learn on my own . . . and if I need to learn something from an expert, I can find an expert to teach me . . . I just don’t value college education much because I feel there are better ways to learn . . . every career I’ve had I’ve taught myself the skills needed to do the job . . .

I guess I just don’t like having someone dictate to me what I have to learn and the format in which I have to learn it . . . and I hate sitting through lectures . . .

Edward: Why do you hate sitting through lectures?

Me: I don’t like sitting still that long . . . that’s why I don’t like concerts or sermons or movies . . . I can’t stand to sit still that long . . . things move way too slowly and I get bored . . . I’m good for about 15 minutes then I’m ready to leave.

I’d much rather just read a book if I want to learn about something . . . I can do much better learning from a book . . . it is painful for me to have to sit through lectures . . . just write it down and let me read it, thank you very much!

Edward: So, do you have a degree?

Me: I have an associates degree in general studies, and I have more than 120 undergraduate semester credits, but I’ve changed my major so many times that the credits are not concentrated enough in any one major to get a degree . . . I’m eight classes away from getting my computer science degree . . .

Edward: Why didn’t you finish that degree?

Me: I was working on it when I lost my job and went bankrupt . . . school fell to the bottom of my priorities . . . I was trying to just feed and house myself . . .

Now that I’ve changed careers, it doesn’t seem worthwhile to finish that degree . . . I don’t think I’ll ever go back into that field . . . and I did very well in that field for 15 years without a degree . . . I don’t know that a degree would have helped anything once that part of my life fell apart.

Edward: What about getting a music degree?

Me: I really don’t need one to teach . . . no one asks me about my education . . . none of my clients seem to care about that.

Anything I think I need to learn, there are plenty of very cheap ways to learn it . . . I can buy or borrow books or I can pull stuff off the internet . . . and I read and study about music and music theory all the time . . . I’m always learning . . .

I don’t see any reason to get a degree . . . I have no desire to go back to school.

Edward: It seems you have thought this through quite thoroughly!

Me: (Grinning) Yeah . . .

[Continued in the next post . . . ]

Quotes 820


Leave a Reply

Categories

