Posted by: Marie | December 24, 2013

(906) All before sunrise – Part 1 of 3

Post #906
[Private journal entry written on Wednesday, August 1, 2012]

It’s 5:00 in the morning . . .

The cat woke me up . . .

Awhile back, the cat figured out that he could gain access into the dropped ceiling in the basement by pushing up on the ceiling tiles . . . once he gets inside the ceiling space, he can travel into other parts of the basement . . .

His escape attempts were only slightly annoying at first, but after eight or nine months of dealing with them, they are now way more than annoying.

He has started doing significant damage to the ceiling tiles . . . digging holes in them . . .

I’ve tried taping the seam between the tiles and the support rails, but the tape doesn’t stick to the ceiling tiles . . . they are vinyl . . . all he has to do is push hard on the tiles and the tape pops loose.

(248)

Photo by Martin Chen

He has figured out that he can bring me out of a dead sleep by messing with the tiles . . . I always have an ear tuned for that because I try to stop him from doing more damage . . . I’ll yell at him, spray him with a water bottle . . . of course, in order to do any of that, I have to wake up and get out of bed, which is what he wants . . . because he wants my attention or he wants food and I’m not likely to give him either when I’m sleeping.

Since the tape doesn’t work, I’ve blocked off the tops of the bookcases so he can’t get to the ceiling tiles. That was a feat, in and of itself . . . he would jump up and grab whatever I had piled up there and bring it all down with a huge crash. I finally found a combination of objects that he can’t pull down . . .

However, in the last few days, he has figured out that he can reach the tiles from the window sills. So, he’s been jumping up to the window sills and digging at the tiles in order to wake me up. This morning was no exception . . . he started in a little before 4:00am, while it was still dark.

So, in frustration, I got up and piled books in the window sills so he wouldn’t have any space to land when he jumps . . .

I had almost gotten back to sleep when he climbed onto my shoulder (I was sleeping on my side) and used my shoulder as a launch pad. His back claws need to be clipped, so he left deep, bloody marks on my shoulder when he launched . . . that woke me up in a hurry . . .

Since the books blocked his landing zone, he slid back down the wall, leaving claw marks in the drywall all the way down . . . and he landed square on my head, creating a few additional (but thankfully smaller) bloody cuts on my scalp . . .

While I was still cowering, protectively covering my head with my arms, he hopped back on my shoulder and attempted a second launch . . .

The second attempt played out much like the first attempt. Once he landed on my head again, I scooted about 12 inches closer to the foot of the bed, away from the window . . . I was thinking that he could entertain himself and I could go back to sleep as long as he wasn’t launching from or landing on my body.

I guess I didn’t move far enough away from the window . . . he decided my shoulder was still the best launch pad available to him . . . from my shoulder, he leapt towards the window yet again . . .

That time, he got his front claws onto the edge of the window sill . . . I looked up just in time to see his silhouette dangling from the edge of the sill . . . then, he slowly pulled himself up (which requires amazing upper body strength) enough to get a rear foot claw dug into the wall . . . he reached with one of his front paws for the books piled on the sill . . . lost his grip and came crashing down again . . . and two of the books came along with him . . .

Of course, I had used heavy, hard-bound books because I thought they would stand up better under assault . . . and one of the books bounced on the window sill and flipped out away from the wall . . . because it was dark in my room (still nighttime), I didn’t see it coming . . .

The book hit me in the face . . . the corner of the book landed on the very vulnerable soft tissue immediately under my eye . . . and the cat again landed on my scalp . . .

The noise from the books falling scared the cat and he did a spastic running-in-place sideways launch, using the side of my face as the runway . . .

It was becoming very clear, very quickly that my book-blockade plan was not a good one . . . my battle scars were clear evidence of that . . .

I quickly rolled to the foot of my bed . . . I turned sideways on the bed so my feet were hanging off the side . . . I pulled the blankets around me . . .

The cat jumped up onto the trashcan (that has a lid so he can’t get into the trash) and sat looking at me, his tail swishing back and forth angrily . . .

I thought to myself: I hate taking away all his high perches, but if he would quit digging at the ceiling tiles, he could have them all back . . . he just doesn’t seem to understand that . . .

Anyway . . . I tried to go back to sleep, but my adrenaline had been charged up so much that there was no way . . . so, now, after tending to my wounds, I’m sitting up in bed (yes, back under the window), writing in my journal . . . and occasionally pushing the cat away as he continues to attempt to use me as a launch pad . . . yeah, that’s not happening as long as I’m awake!

I’ve been brainstorming to come up with a solution . . . I’m thinking I might get a hold of some poster board and tuck the poster board into the railing (like the ceiling tiles are) and then run tape around the seams. I already know the tape will stick to the rails and I’m sure it will stick to the poster board . . . that might work . . .

I think the poster board will be thick enough that he won’t be able to scratch through it . . . maybe . . .

I think I’ll go to the dollar store today and get the supplies for that . . . I think I can do it for $10 . . . and then I can get caught back up on my sleep . . .

He’s been waking me up at 4 or 5am and I’m tired due to sleep deprivation . . . I can’t go back to sleep once he wakes me up. I need to be able to get a full night’s sleep.

So . . . anyway . . . while I’ve been sitting here thinking about poster board and packing tape, I’ve also been thinking about the autoharp I’ve been tuning . . .

[Continued in the next post . . . ]

Quotes 816


Responses

  1. Hope you found a solution.

    • It was a strange problem to have, LOL!


Leave a Reply

Categories

