Posted by: Marie | October 25, 2013

(885) A new adventure

Post #885
[Private journal entry written on Monday, July 9, 2012]

Okay . . . I have made a big decision . . .

A little over two years ago, I was called for jury duty in a child sexual abuse court case. After I was dismissed from duty, I went back to observe a day of the trial. While we were on a break, I met a lady who is on the board of directors for the Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) program in City #2, and she is also a victims advocate for the sheriff’s department.

She spoke to me about how volunteering in these ways allows her to do something very good with the very bad stuff that happened to her as a child . . . she was sexually abused as a child . . .

I was so inspired by her . . . and ever since that day, I’ve carried in the back of mind the idea that I would like to do something like that once I got to a more stable place in my healing.

Well, I am starting to see a significant improvement in my mental health . . . my depression is lifting and I can tell I am moving into a better place. I’m not yet where I would like to be, but I can sense that I’m definitely moving in that direction.

(229)

Photo by Martin Chen

I have decided that I’m going to take the first steps towards doing that kind of volunteering. I’m not yet ready to actually do the volunteering, but I ready to take some steps in that direction.

This weekend, I’ve been researching the two volunteer programs this lady told me about. It seems that the sheriff’s department program might not be a good fit because I would have to be available to jump in the car at a moment’s notice – day or night – and respond to an incident. And, since we have very little crime in my little town, most of these incidents would be occurring in the bigger towns, all of which are at least a 30-minute drive from my little town. So, I don’t think I could do that with my schedule.

I think the CASA program would be a better fit. My involvement would occur within a more predictable schedule . . . and, it focuses specifically on kids who have been neglected and abused. The sheriff’s program is for people of all ages who have been victimized in a number of different ways.

I really feel pulled towards working with abused and neglected kids, especially since becoming emotionally invested in Renee . . . I feel strongly pulled in that direction . . .

As I was reading up on the CASA program, I noticed that they have an informational meeting scheduled for a couple of weeks from now.

I’m going to go . . . I’m going to find out the details . . .

So, yesterday, I sent an email to Sabeena, the CASA volunteer coordinator . . .

Dear Sabeena:

I am interested in attending the informational meeting scheduled for July 24th. Could you tell me the location of the meeting, and whatever other information I might need to know?

Thank you!

– Marie Smith
Piano Teacher
[My town], Colorado
XXX-XXX-XXXX
[my website]

She responded back first thing this morning:

Thanks for your interest! There is nothing for you to do before the meeting. There you will learn about the volunteer position, and after that, we will give details of how to apply, if you are still interested.

The meeting is at the court house at XXX Main Street. You should be able to park free in the parking lot on the west side on the building. The building does close at 5pm, but we will have someone standing at the door from 5:15pm to 5:30pm to let everyone in.

I’ll put you on the list. Thanks for contacting me, and I look forward to meeting you.

Sabeena Adams
Volunteer Coordinator

I quickly sent back a response:

Thank you, Sabeena, for the info! I’ll see you there!

So . . . there we go . . . I guess I’m onto a new adventure!

I’m actually excited about it . . . very, very excited . . .

Quotes 795


Responses

  1. Look forward to hearing how you found the meeting

    • Thank you for your interest, Evan!


Leave a Reply

Categories

