Posted by: Marie | October 24, 2013

(884) Independence Day

Post #884
[Private journal entry written on Wednesday, July 4, 2012]

Today is Independence Day . . .

It has been a bit of a lazy day and I’ve had time for my mind to wander . . . I was thinking about the unusual mix of professions represented by my adult students and the parents of my youthful students . . .

There is a dentist, a plastic surgeon, a psychiatrist, an emergency room doctor, a nurse, a CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocate), an FBI agent, a paramedic, a fire fighter who might be a paramedic (I’m not sure if he is cross-trained), and a cop who used to be a fire fighter and a paramedic . . .

At least, if we were ever to have some kind of emergency at a lesson or at a recital, chances are that we wouldn’t have to bother calling 911 . . . we would already have it covered, LOL . . .

I know some people get all weirded-out when they have to deal with people who work in those professions . . . I guess I’m so used to it that I don’t think about it much . . . the novelty is lost on me, I’m afraid . . .

It’s just something I find interesting and humorous . . .

————–

I drove my mom to Denver yesterday so she could meet up with my cousins and ride with them to another cousin’s house in the mountains for an annual celebration that has occurred every single 4th of July for decades . . . it’s not something I particularly enjoy attending, but I was happy to take my mom to catch a ride . . . and I’ll make another trip back down to Denver to pick her up in a few days from now.

Anyway, I had made arrangements with Luke and Camilla to pick up my black folding chair from Luke’s house on the way to Denver since I would be passing within a few miles of his house . . . I guess I was pretty excited about the possibility of running into him because I woke up way too early and couldn’t go back to sleep . . .

I decided to shoot off an email around 5:30am:

Hi, Luke and/or Camilla –

I’m not sure which of you is caring for the house this morning . . . just a quick reminder (just in case you need it) . . .

I’ll be swinging by your (Luke’s) house this morning to pick up the black folding chair I left there in March. I’ll be leaving [City #1] at 8:00am, I’m guessing it will take an hour to get to your house from there, so I think I’ll be there around 9:00am. I’ll look for the chair on the porch. Thank you in advance!

– Marie

About 20 minutes later, as I was still trying to fall back asleep, I had a brainstorm and decided to shoot off another email:

Hi, Luke –

Are you going to be home this morning? My mom (the watercolor artist for whom I bought – and you signed – a copy of A Beautiful World) will be with me when I stop by your house. If you are going to be there, do you have a minute that I could introduce you to my mom? She would get a kick out of meeting you.

– Marie

I never did fall back asleep, but I laid there and tried to go back to sleep until I had to get up at 7:00am . . . I needed time to get dressed [as cutely as possible without being obvious, of course] and then make the 30-minute drive to my mom’s house to pick her up at 8:00am . . .

At my mom’s house, I jumped on her computer to check my email . . . no response from Luke as of 8:00am . . . and no call on my cell phone (I had included my phone number in my email).

(228)

Photo by Martin Chen

My mom and I headed south and got to Luke’s house right around 9:00am . . . when we were within a few miles of his house, I called his phone number . . . I’m not sure if the number I have is his cell phone or landline . . . I wanted to see if he happened to be at the house and if he could take a minute to meet my mom . . .

But, of course, he didn’t answer the phone . . . I left a quick message that we would be there in a couple of minutes and it would be great to introduce him to my mom . . .

We got to his house, I went onto the porch to pick up the chair . . . no one came out to meet me . . . I didn’t have the balls to ring the doorbell (I was beginning to feel desperately silly) . . . I loaded the chair in my car, got back in the driver’s seat and we took off . . .

We headed onto Denver and met my cousins . . . my mom took off with them, I returned to my house . . .

So . . . a lot of hopeful excitement generated for naught . . .

Last night, before I went to bed, I shot off yet another email:

Hi, Luke and/or Camilla –

Thank you to whichever of you put my chair out on the porch! It’s back in its rightful place (in my car as a back-up travel teaching chair!)

I really appreciate your remembering to put it out!

– Marie

At 6:30am this morning (before I was awake and out of bed), I received an email from Luke:

Hey Marie,

Happy Fourth.

Sorry I was not here to meet up with you and Mom.

Glad the chair is safely home where it belongs.

Peace
Luke

So, there is no indication in his email that he is interested in having any further contact with me. I’m done trying, for real and for ever and ever . . . I wish him well . . . but, I’m not going to chase him, I’ve got better things to do.

Quotes 794


Leave a Reply

Categories

