Posted by: Marie | April 25, 2013

(838) Warm fuzzy feelings

Post #838
[Private journal entry written on Wednesday, May 2, 2012]

Yesterday, I sent an email to Edward in which I recounted my “heavenly cave” dream. I went into some detail, although not as much as I did in my journal entry.

Today, I received a response from him:

Dear Marie,

Thanks for sharing the dream.

I’m quite touched by the warmth and reassurance it offers.

I look forward to seeing you soon, and talking more about this.

Warmly,

Edward

—————

I attended the conscious business group meeting this morning. Since our big reorganization a little over a month ago, they have introduced a coaching activity into the program. Every third week, a professional business or life coach comes to the meeting and provides 20 minutes of one-on-one coaching for two different people in the audience (two separate 20-minute coaching sessions, one after the other).

These coaching conversations usually are very private. However, we do them in front of an audience. We handle the privacy issue by making sure everyone in the audience agrees to maintain confidentiality around the coachee’s identity and the subject matter being discussed.

I wasn’t sure how effective these coaching sessions would be, but I’m learning they are very effective . . . very transformational. It is very powerful to watch a transformation occur right in front of us.

Today, our coach was Taj Steiner, who lives in Oregon. He is the founder of “Heart Circles”. According to his website, here is how he describes Heart Circles:

Our culture needs new ‘social structures’ that support personal awakening and community connection. The Heart Circle is a powerful pioneer in this field. Its elegant simplicity works to create a ‘resonant social field.’

Heart Circles are deliberately designed to support people in finding out what each person wants in order to be more open-hearted and connected to one another in community.

They are all-member facilitated and self-sustaining. Instead of using techniques and rigid formats, they encourage people to come into the moment to discover what wants to happen next. By meeting weekly, friendship and social support becomes available on an ongoing basis.

Because he is not in Colorado, they decided to do the coaching via Skype. I was surprised by how well the Skype arrangement worked . . . it was still quite powerful.

At the start of the coaching, the Skype connection had a lot of static in it. Then, after a few minutes, it cleared up.

(184)

Photo by Martin Chen

Then, about 15 minutes later, it started coming back and Taj made a comment to that effect. Amanda, the group leader, laughed a little and said that she had been holding the space for a solid connection and that she had gotten a bit tired and needed a break . . . she had lost her focus which is why the connection developed static again.

No one had realized she was holding that space for us . . . and once she said that, I asked if she would like some others in the group to help her hold that space. She said that would be nice . . .

Several of us formed that intention and, immediately, the static cleared up and the connection stayed solid for the remainder of the coaching time.

I find it so interesting that this kind of conversation is commonplace in our group. It is so refreshing to be part of a business group that is comfortable recognizing and operating with that “paranormal” space.

For whatever reason, I was very emotional today in the meeting. I was the note-taker for the coaching sessions (so the coachee can better recall what was said in the coaching session), so I had to stay very focused on what was being said. I was taking notes and wiping tears at the same time . . .

Because I was taking notes, I was not able to participate in the conversations that Taj had with the group before and after each coaching session. But, at the very end, before we ended the Skype session, Taj went around the room and asked each of us to give a brief description of what we experienced, thought or felt during the coaching sessions. When it was my turn, I told him that, even though I hadn’t had a chance to speak up during the group discussions, I still felt seen and heard by him by proxy. I felt there clearly would have been space for me to be seen and heard had I spoken up.

At one point in the meeting, it came to light that one of our members was struggling with being able to meet some basic needs and that she really needed some help with a variety of day-to-day responsibilities. Immediately, several of the group members piped up with offers of help . . . it gave me a warm, fuzzy feeling to know our group members really care about each other in a very practical way.

I really like this group. I’m so glad I found it.

Quotes 748


Responses

  1. What a great meeting. And I agree very much with Taj that our culture needs new social structures.

    • Taj has some really neat ideas!


Leave a Reply

Categories

