Posted by: Marie | March 30, 2013

(818) Joy buzz – Part 2 of 2

Post #818
[Private journal entry written on Monday, March 26, 2012 – continued from previous post]

During the course of the evening, I introduced myself to maybe 15-20 people. I noticed an interesting trend . . . none of those people knew Luke well . . . they had taken a class from him, they met him at one of his book-signings, they are friends of a colleague, they joined him for one of his guided tours to Ireland . . .

That left me wondering . . . where are the members of his inner circle? Maybe they live in other parts of the world . . . ?? I’m sure he has an inner circle . . . right?? Maybe this party was designed more for his clients and customers . . . maybe that’s why I didn’t run into any members of his inner circle . . . or maybe they were there and I just missed them.

I watched him over the course of the evening . . . I observed him having mini-conversations with many different people, but I never saw him engaged in a prolonged conversation. He perpetually moved around, greeting people, making sure they had what they needed, taking photographs . . .

(167)

Photo by Martin Chen

I wonder if he has to maintain this public persona anytime he interacts with people who are more clients than friends . . . maybe he has to keep all of us at arm’s length in order to protect his privacy . . . if that is what he is protecting . . .

I wonder about that . . .

It seems he enjoyed the evening . . . he seemed to enjoy providing this joyful experience for all of us . . . but when does he get to be a participant rather than a facilitator . . . ?? Does he ever get to let down his guard? I hope so . . .

Anyway . . . after enjoying the incredibly yummy spread of health-conscious food, we all settled in for the concert. Luke had cleared the furniture in a secondary living room / dining room to make room for a stage area and rows of folding chairs. We all gathered in that room to listen . . .

The performers were three Americans – I’m guessing in their 30’s – who had all studied at the same school of music in Ireland. One guy (Adam Agee) played “fiddle”, the other guy (Jon Sousa) played guitar and banjo, and the woman (Emily Dawson) sang and played a “whistle” (small flute thing that she held like a clarinet) and a tambourine thing. Wow! Such great music!

(Here’s samples of their music you can enjoy:)

Adam Agee and Jon Sousa
Emily Dawson

Most of the music was lively Scottish/Irish dance music, but there were a few Irish ballads. Emily sang a cappella several times and her voice was very clear, like a bell. Jon played one piece – a ballad he wrote – that was so beautiful it caused tears to run down my face.

During all the faster music, Adam stomped and “danced” with his feet (while still sitting in the chair). We all were laughing at his wild abandonment! He joked that it was a good thing Luke has wood floors in that room because it is physically impossible for him to perform on carpet!

Towards the end of the evening (around 10:00pm when the crowd had thinned out to about 20 people), Adam told us to clear the folding chairs and make room for dancing . . . because “it is a well-known fact that it is dangerous to listen to Irish music without dancing” . . . LOL!

We formed two lines, facing each other (like square or folk dancing lines) and we took four steps towards the person across from us, clapped, four steps back, repeat, repeat, repeat, then, reached across and created a tunnel. The couple at the end danced and jigged through the tunnel and we all moved down one place. The next couple did the same until we all had gone through. Then we did the whole dance again.

My partner was this lively gal named Belle from Argentina – she has a delightfully rich accent. During and after the dance, we got to talking about dance steps. After everyone else had stopped dancing, the musicians were still playing dance music, so we took over the “dance floor”, just the two of us, and I taught her the “Cotton-Eyed Joe” dance because it fit the music so well.

By the time the last song was being played, everyone was laughing and having such a rowdy good time. It sure made me sweat, LOL! It was such a blast!! I really enjoyed myself!

I signed up for Adam and Jon’s mailing list to receive info on their performances all up and down the front range, so maybe I can take my mom to listen to them play sometime. I’m sure she would enjoy hearing them.

As Luke had predicted, Sandy, the art gallery owner was there. I visited with her a little bit . . . and the harpist and the lute player I met at Luke’s book-signing were also there. So, I was able to make arrangements with them to get together at my studio this Thursday afternoon for an Irish music “jam session” and to put some music together for my recitals next month. That will be so cool! After hearing the concert, I am really excited to create some Irish music of our own . . .

Finally . . . the evening came to a close . . . I was tired but happy . . . it had been such an incredibly fun evening. I am so glad I chose to attend . . .

I headed home . . . when I was about a third of the way home, I realized I had forgotten to get my chair before I left Luke’s house. I debated about turning around . . . but, I decided I wouldn’t . . . I could easily and cheaply replace the chair . . . it was not worth going back for it. If I happen to have contact with Luke in the future, or if I happen to be in his neighborhood some day, I’ll arrange to get it back. Otherwise, I’ll leave it with him.

The next morning (yesterday, which was Sunday), I prepared a thank you card for Luke and included my business card in it. My note said:

Hi, Luke –

Thank you so much for opening up your beautiful home for such a life-affirming event this weekend! I absolutely had a blast! I left with a “joy buzz”!

The music was outstanding! Any group of musicians that can take me from being moved to tears all the way to being inspired to dance a lively jig is obviously marvelous and talented!

At the beginning of the evening, I asked you about “your story”. We didn’t get very far with that discussion. I’d sure like to learn more about your personal journey, if you are willing and able to co-create an opportunity for sharing some of it with me.

Are you?

– Marie

When I was out and about in the afternoon, I stopped by the post office and dropped the note in the mail slot in the lobby. About an hour later, I got this nagging feeling that there has been a recent increase in postage fees . . . that I hadn’t put enough postage on the thank-you note . . . and, of course, I didn’t put a return address on it so I would never know if it didn’t get delivered . . .

When I got home, I looked online . . . sure enough . . . about two months ago, the postage rate went up a penny.

Well, that’s weird . . . I mail out a couple of bills each month . . . I know the handful of bills I have mailed since the increase have all made it to their destination because the checks have come through my bank. How did they get delivered despite the fact I didn’t have enough postage on them . . . ??

So, I put a penny, along with a note describing the piece of mail to which the penny’s worth of postage needed to be added, in a ziplock bag and dropped in the same mail slot for the post office employees to find in this morning (the post office was closed yesterday because it was Sunday).

Of course, I worried about it. So, this morning, I stopped by the post office right at 8:00am, on my way to the studio. I wanted to catch the post office employees first thing this morning. Upon my arrival, I discovered that the post office doesn’t open until 8:30am . . . and my schedule wouldn’t allow me to come back until lunchtime, which would be too late . . .

So, I pushed open the mail slot and hollered to see if I could get the attention of someone working in the back . . . I could hear people talking, so I knew people were there . . .

A female employee came up to the slot and we had a blind conversation through the slot . . .

Umm . . . yesterday, I dropped a ziplock bag into the slot . . . it has a penny in it to cover the postage due on a letter I also dropped in there yesterday . . . I just wanted to make sure you found both of those things and you are able to put the additional postage on that letter . . . are you allowed to do something like that? I mean, I don’t want to ask you to do something illegal . . .

Oh, I sure can do that . . . let me see if I can find the bag and the card . . . oh, yes! Here they are! I can’t give you a receipt right now because our cash registers aren’t online right now . . .

Oh, that’s fine . . . I don’t need a receipt . . . I just needed to know that particular piece of mail is going to be delivered . . .

Yes, I’ll make sure it gets on its way . . .

Thank you . . . and . . . can you tell me how the other mail I’ve sent over the last couple of months has been successfully delivered even though there wasn’t enough postage on them?

Well, we could have simply not noticed the shortage, or it may have shown up in the recipient’s mailbox with postage due . . . or, if we do catch it and it is just a penny or two, we usually just add the postage here as a courtesy . . . or the mail carrier will cover it out her own pocket at the time of delivery . . .

Really?? Wow . . . that’s really generous . . . thank you to all of you for going that extra mile!

You’re welcome!

Hmmm . . . I guess that is yet another perk of living in a small town . . . a very nice one!

Quotes 728


Leave a Reply

Categories

