Posted by: Marie | March 29, 2013

(817) Joy buzz – Part 1 of 2

Post #817
[Private journal entry written on Monday, March 26, 2012]

I must say . . . I am proud of myself.

Luke’s party was on Saturday evening. Before I headed over to the party, I first went to a live theatre production of “Annie Get Your Gun” at a high school in City #2. My piano mentor, Kelly, invited me to go in place of her husband (he had to work). Her 8-year-old niece was one of the three younger child actors in the play (most of the actors were high school age), so of course they wanted to watch her performance.

It was a fairly long production . . . almost three hours long. But, the time went quickly because it was so incredibly well done – I am so impressed with the talent of those kids! I was blown away! I’m so glad Kelly invited me to go with her.

(166)

Photo by Martin Chen

The play finished just before 5:00pm . . .

Luke’s party – specifically the potluck part of it – was scheduled to start at 6:00pm . . .

Based upon Google Maps, it is a 50-minute drive from the high school in City #2 to Luke’s house near Boulder. So, I walked Kelly to her car and said “good-bye” to her, then went back inside the school for a visit to the rest room, then returned to the parking lot and got into my car . . . and then started driving towards Luke’s house at about 5:10pm. I figured that would put me at his doorstep right at 6:00pm . . . worse case, if I got lost, I would be fashionably late.

Well . . . maybe I drive fast . . . or maybe traffic was less heavy than normal . . . but I got to Luke’s house at 5:50pm.

I sat outside his house, in my car, for a couple of minutes debating if the polite thing would be to drive around for another few minutes, or to sit in my car for a few minutes . . . or if I should go on in . . .

I burned up a few more minutes rearranging the contents of all my bags stacked in my back seat (teaching bag, personal bag/purse, networking bag, party food bag) . . . their contents had gotten all jumbled up in the last couple of days with all my busyness . . .

Then, I looked around and noticed other cars parked on the street near his house, so I figured other people were already there . . .

At 5:56pm, I decided to go on in.

When I walked in (per the “come on in” sign on the door), Luke came from somewhere in the back of the house and welcomed me. He struggled to remember who I was . . . I told him I was the piano teacher with a mom who does water color painting . . . that was enough to cause him to make the connection . . .

He apologized, but I assured him it was reasonable for him to not remember me . . . the only time he has ever had face-to-face contact with me is the few minutes we had in the same room (with a crowd of people around) more then a month ago at his book-signing . . .

He invited me to join him in the kitchen . . . he was still setting up the potluck serving table. I joined him in the kitchen. Almost immediately, I realized I was the first guest to arrive.

Hmmmmm . . . I wavered between feeling awkward that I hadn’t honored the “always be fashionably late” social rule and feeling glad that I would have a few minutes alone with Luke . . .

I decided I would embrace the latter . . .

I offered to help in whatever way I could with the set-up. In response, he said:

Oh, shoot, I forgot to ask someone to bring bread . . . I forgot about bread . . .

(Laughing) Well, that happens to be what I brought.

(Laughing in relief) Oh, well . . . isn’t that psychic of you! That’s awesome! (Handing me a platter and a bread knife) Would you be willing to slice it up and put it on this platter?

Um . . . it’s already sliced . . . I had the bakery slice it . . . but I’ll be happy to arrange it on the platter!

As soon as I started arranging the bread, Luke’s dog, Logan – a breathtakingly beautiful husky – came in from the backyard and checked me out. He is mellow and affectionate, with an intense, steady gaze . . . and I guess he decided he liked me because he stayed right with me, tight against my leg, as Luke and I talked. And, when I moved around the kitchen, he still stayed right with me. That made me feel welcome – it’s just like when I teach lessons at people’s homes and the animals hang out with me around the piano!

Luke mentioned that he was concerned about not having enough chairs . . . I offered the folding chair I keep in my car . . . I keep it handy in case I need it while teaching at people’s houses. Luke took me up on my offer . . . I told him I would run out to my car and get the chair after we finished getting the kitchen set up . . .

As we worked (with Logan at my side, LOL), we talked . . . Luke recalled that I had emailed to him my story (the lengthy one) and he said that I have quite a story to tell . . . that I’ve come a long way in my healing . . .

I made a few comments about how it has been a long and difficult journey but that I’m feeling so much better now . . .

I asked him about his story . . . I said I have noticed that people who are more “enlightened” (for lack of a better term) have usually traversed their own healing journey . . . I wondered if that was the case for him . . . I wondered about his story . . .

He asked me what I would like to know . . .

I asked him where he grew up (not in Colorado) and I asked how he ended up living in Colorado (a story full of adventure) . . .

And that’s when the exterior door opened and other guests arrived.

Luke headed off to greet them . . . Logan followed Luke so he could investigate what yummy food was being carried in by the new arrivals . . . I followed the both of them so I could go to my car and get my folding chair . . .

Luke introduced me to the new arrivals as I passed by them on my way to my car . . . and when I came back into the house, I sat down in the living room with them so I could get to know them.

One of the first questions they asked me is if I am Luke’s girlfriend . . . I guess I can see how they could draw that conclusion since he and I were the only people in the house . . .

I managed to play it cool and nonchalantly inform them that I was not . . . but, on the inside, I was jolted by the question . . . whew . . . talk about a tease!

Which . . . that brings up something else I noticed . . . there was no girlfriend there when I arrived. I kept an eye open, watching for her to show up, but she never did. I didn’t have the moxie to ask about her . . . I figured I would just keep my observation to myself . . . but . . . I’m just saying . . . hmmmmmmm . . .

As more and more people started showing up, I took a moment to look around Luke’s house and yard. His house is of a typical size for this part of the country . . . not large, not small . . . just a nice, moderate size in a somewhat rural neighborhood. The decor was not fancy . . . not high-end . . . but, the way its contents are arranged – and the muted, comforting colors of the decor – create an amazingly beautiful and peaceful environment.

It wasn’t surprising to me that his house embodies a welcoming, peaceful sense of beauty . . . that seems to be a common theme in all parts of his world. I love the energy I experienced in his home.

It didn’t take long for the house to fill up with people . . . at the party’s peak, I would say there were maybe 45 people present. Fortunately, the weather was beautiful and we were able to make use of the beautifully landscaped backyard. The house accommodated the crowd well.

Most of the attendees were my age and older . . . mostly women . . . a lot of health care and holistic practitioners . . . along with many artists and musicians . . . a very Bolder-esque crowd. I got into several very interesting conversations . . .

[Continued in the next post . . . ]

Quotes 727


Leave a Reply

Categories

