Posted by: Marie | March 2, 2013

(793) The call of nature

Post #793
[Private journal entry written on Saturday, February 18, 2012]

My mom and I had some quiet time together today during which we checked out Luke’s book, movie DVD and music CD. When I handed the book to my mom, I explained the story of how I had come across it and about the book-signing . . . I explained why I thought it would be something enjoyable for her . . . I showed her the inscription Luke had written to her . . .

She seemed very pleased with the gift.

We looked at every page of the book . . . he had photos from Chile, Dominica, Iceland, Hawaii, Greece, Greenland, Peru, the Rocky Mountains, the Caribbean, Tahiti and, of course, Ireland . . .

My mom and I have been to several of those locations, so it was fun to reminisce about our shared journeys . . . and we studied every breath-taking photo . . . viewing the book was really a pleasurable experience and it was even more special to view it with my mom.

143) Title Unknown

Photo by Martin Chen

Then, my mom served some chili for lunch and we watched the movie as we ate. It was a series of photo clips and still shots of wonderfully beautiful scenery from around the world. It was set to music and there was some subtle narration – much of it inspirational. Again, the experience was very enjoyable.

I had burned a copy of the book’s “soundtrack” to my computer and gave her the original CD. I absolutely love that music! However, the CD didn’t have any information about the songs (country of origin, title, composer name, performer name, etc.) and I really wished it did.

I told my mom that Luke had expressed at the book-signing that he really loves Irish music . . . he finds it immensely healing and it speaks to his soul . . . well, he loves music in general, especially healing music, but he loves Irish music most of all. He feels pulled toward all things Irish . . . that is why he keeps going back to Ireland. And, he recently learned that he has some Irish blood running in his veins . . . he pondered if that has something to do with that attraction.

He mentioned in his book that he enjoys the company of his beloved dog – a beautiful Siberian husky. He had a photo of him with his dog in the book – very beautiful!

(I seem to be using the word “beautiful” a whole lot in this journal entry . . . but, everything about Luke’s photography and music was just that – amazingly beautiful.)

And . . . something else that caught my eye . . . the book is dedicated to an ex-girlfriend who had been killed in a mountain climbing accident. (I guess the accident happened quite awhile after they had broken up.) He said in his dedication that she had been “the one who got away”.

Hmmmm . . . very interesting . . .

I found the dedication very touching and heartfelt . . . and interesting.

I guess that means he’s not gay.

Hmmmm . . .

Anyway . . . throughout the book and the movie, Luke repeatedly encouraged people to spend time in nature as a way to heal and restore our bodies and minds and souls . . . every time I hear that, I am aware of the sharp ache I have in my heart to do that . . . to go be in the mountains . . . the ache is so strong . . .

When I was watching the video, the mountains in the video called out to me. I thought: It would be nice to go hang out in the mountains, but I can’t because I’m out of shape. It would be a waste of time to drive out to the mountains to go hiking until I get into better shape.

I’ve been going to the gym to try to get into better shape. But, I’ve been very busy, and I have all the psychological crap going on that keeps triggering me . . . I’m not making progress. It’s probably going to be a very, very long time – months and months, maybe a year, maybe two – before I’ll ever get out there and hike again.

As I was wallowing in my self-limiting thoughts, I swear that one particularly majestic mountain in the video spoke to me. It said:

But those aren’t my judgments; I’m sitting here simply waiting for you. I don’t hold any such judgments about the way in which you must show up in the world before you earn the right to come here. I hold no expectations. Just come . . . just get into your car and come. Come today; I’m waiting for you.

It brought tears to my eyes.

Quotes 703


Responses

  1. That’s one smart mountain!

    • Amen, LOL!!

  2. Yeah, that mountain is definitely intelligent. Hope you listened up…. :-)

    • Well . . I guess you’ll have to wait and see what I did with that piece of advice, LOL!!

  3. I hope that you have had times to visit the mountains since then. Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

    • Hi, Kate –

      I appreciate the good thoughts!

      – Marie


Leave a Reply

Categories

