Posted by: Marie | January 20, 2013

(776) Navigating changing waters

Post #776
[Private journal entry written on Friday, February 10, 2012 at 9:00am]

So, it’s been a mixed bag of stuff during the last few days . . .

A week or so ago, the parents of one of my piano students mentioned that they had seen me work with the violinist during the ensemble clinic last month and they wanted to know if I could give their daughter (who is already a piano student) lessons on her viola. I told them that I played viola a little bit when I was nine years old, so I have a small idea how to play viola . . . but, it has been 35 years since I last played . . . I told them I could give her a couple of lessons this summer . . . enough to get her started . . . enough to give her an idea if she would want to continue with a “real” strings teacher . . .

Selflessness Forest by Martin Chen

Selflessness Forest by Martin Chen

I’ve been thinking about how to best approach this challenge . . . and I realized it would be smart for me to borrow the viola for the three months between now and summer so I could remember how to play it . . . it might be good for me to really know how to get a decent sound out of it . . . and how to correctly tune it without damaging the strings or instrument . . .

I called the family today and they said I could borrow it . . . I’ll pick it up from them at the next lesson (which is at their house). This will be fun . . . I hope!

—–

A couple of days ago, I attended the music teachers association meeting for the chapter to which I’ll be transferring next year – I attended as a guest. The state president was there – the same one that was present at the meeting at my current/old chapter meeting at which I had the emotional blow-up . . . I thought she would stand up for me at that meeting, but she didn’t.

I happened to sit next to her at this week’s meeting. Before the meeting started, I gave her a quick update on my situation . . . that I had decided to switch to a different local chapter . . . and she said she was glad for me. During the meeting, I watched how she handled other situations (nothing to do with me) and realized that she is very committed to avoiding conflict at all costs . . . this characteristic is core to her personality. So, maybe that is why she didn’t stand up for me during the blow-up. Hmmm . . . I guess it doesn’t really matter at this point in time . . . it’s water under the bridge now.

—-

Oh, and, I saw my friend who just found out he has brain/spine cancer this week at the gym . . . it was the first time I’ve seen him since I heard the news via the grapevine. We talked for a few moments . . . I let him know that I had heard the news and that I was pulling for him . . . and that I was really glad to see him up and around, and to see him at the gym. It felt good to see him . . . it gave me a sense of connection with him . . . it would have been kind of weird to find out he is sick and then to never to see him again.

He said he was currently doing radiation treatment and he was going to start chemo next week. He said he was committed to staying in shape – staying as healthy as he can through all the treatment.

—–

Also, I went to the book store and bought two exercise books so I can develop my own exercise program . . . I’ve been going back and forth about hiring a personal trainer . . . I figured, either way, it would be good to have these two books to supplement anything a trainer could tell me.

I spent like $45-50 on the books – one is on stretching and the other is on weight training. They have diagrams and some guidelines – more specific information than I found in some of the other books I perused. Some of the other books have guidelines but they don’t explain the reasoning behind the guidelines, and that makes it nearly impossible to adapt the exercises or design my own program. So I like the books I got because they are pretty clinical and tell me what I want to know.

—–

Finally, this morning, I decided to be more proactive about the report I’ve been trying to file with the police department about the family of the student who disclosed abuse to me . . . I printed out the report and the emails I’ve sent to the police department and I hand-delivered it to the department’s reception desk. I put a little note on the front explaining why I had printed and delivered the stuff (because I hadn’t gotten a response via email).

Within an hour, I received a phone call from an officer. He apologized profusely and said he had gone into the spam folder of the department’s email and had found all my emails stuck in that folder . . . which explains why I had gotten no responses. He assured me he would personally review my file and make sure it got handled appropriately. He asked if there was anything else he could do for me . . . I told him no, that he had done what I needed to be done . . . I thanked him, he thanked me for taking the time to file the report . . . and that was the end of that. I feel better knowing that information is on file in case something else happens with the family in the future.

Quotes 686


Responses

  1. Good result on the police stuff. It sounds like things were going along nicely for you.

    • I’m glad I got the response I did from the police, too!

  2. I’m really glad that there was an explanation re: the police situation!

    • Me, too! It was almost starting to feel personal, LOL!


Leave a Reply

Categories

