Posted by: Marie | December 14, 2012

(763) Peripheral events

Post #763
[Private journal entry written on Friday, January 20, 2012]

Well, it’s been a week for sad news . . .

When I stopped at my bank to make a deposit a couple of days ago, the teller told me that a high school kid had been killed that morning in a head-on car accident on a windy stretch of highway just outside of town . . . it is the same stretch of road I travel at least once a week to go to lessons with my autistic student – I know the road well. It can be a scary road . . . I’m surprised more people aren’t killed on it.

Anyway . . . the teller’s daughter is in the same class as the boy . . . the town is in shock . . . I thought I might know the boy and his younger sister (who was in the car with him but came through it with only minor injuries) from my bus route, but I found out today that it was not the kids I know. It still breaks my heart to know that a family is hurting . . . and the boy’s schoolmates, and the town in general . . . whew.

115

Ali Mountain by Martin Chen

Then, yesterday, I found out that one of the guys from the bus barn just learned he has brain and spine cancer. It doesn’t look good for him. He is one of the drivers who trained me, so I spent many, many hours with him that first year. Then, his route and my route paralleled each other so we worked closely together . . . when one of our buses got too full, the other driver would slip over and pick up the extra kids. I was in constant communication with him each day on our routes. I’ve worked closely with him for several years.

I just saw him three or four weeks ago at the gym . . . we tend to work out about the same time of day so I still see him often even though I’m no longer driving bus. He had just taken delivery on a new pick-up truck that very day and proudly showed it off to me. We talked about his plans to retire soon, but he said he had reconsidered and was going to work for several more years. I guess his plans will be changing yet again . . .

In other news . . . happier news . . .

In October, a doctorate student contacted me about taking part in her research for her dissertation on the rhetorical strategies of trauma bloggers. I agreed. Today, she sent an email today saying that her study had officially been approved and she sent me links for surveys and some questions. This is going to be fun!

And . . . finally . . .

I still haven’t heard a peep from the police department about the written report I sent to them concerning the piano student who disclosed possible abuse to me. So, today, I forwarded my previous two emails to the chief of the police department and included the following correspondence:

Good Morning, Chief Matthews –

I would like to call your attention to a curious matter . . .

Over the course of the last six weeks, I have made three separate attempts via two different mediums to communicate with three different officers within the XXX Police Department and have yet to receive a response (details below). I am surprised by this result.

At this point, I am simply looking for a confirmation that my attached report has been received by the department. Could you please assist me with this matter?

Thank you in advance.

– Marie Smith

Quotes 673


Responses

  1. I hope you eventually got a reply out of the police.

    You certainly had some tough stuff to deal with.

  2. Hey, Evan –

    I knew something strange was up with the police!

    Thank you for the supportive words!

    – Marie


Leave a Reply

Categories

