Posted by: Marie | June 27, 2011

(563) A foot in each realm – Part 2 of 4

Post #563
[Private journal entry written on Friday, December 24, 2010 – continued from previous post]

Mr. Walsch asserts that God answered his questions . . . and this book contains the answers God gave him. Now, I believe that God can speak to each of us, so that doesn’t sound like such a wild claim. I don’t know that I would publish the conversations I have with God or not . . . I publish all kinds of other personal stuff in my blog, after all . . .

But this guy felt he should publish his conversations with God. So, I figured I’d read the book and see what came of it . . . I don’t have anything to lose . . .and if Edward felt the book would have value for me, there is a good chance I would get something out of reading it . . . besides, the quick glances I had given it a few weeks back showed there might be good stuff in there . . .

The first chapter went into detail about the concept of how God communicates with us . . . and here is some of what Mr. Walsch believes God told him on the matter:

“I talk to everyone. All the time. The question is not to whom do I talk, but who listens?”

“My most common form of communication is through feeling. Feeling is the language of the soul. If you want to know what’s true for you about something, look to how you’re feeling about it. Feelings are sometimes difficult to discover – and often even more difficult to acknowledge. Yet hidden in your deepest feelings if your highest truth.”

“I also communicate with thought. Thought and feelings are not the same, although they can occur at the same time. In communicating with thought, I often use images and pictures. For this reason, thoughts are more effective than mere words as tools of communication.

“In addition to feelings and thoughts, I also use the vehicle of experience as a grand communicator.

“And finally, when feelings and thoughts and experience all fail, I use words. Words are really the least effective communicator. They are most open to misinterpretation, most often misunderstood.

“And why is that? It is because of what words are. Words are merely utterances: noises that stand for feelings, thoughts, and experience. They are symbols. Signs. Insignias. They are not Truth. They are not the real thing.”

“Now the supreme irony here is that you have all placed so much importance on the Word of God, and so little on the experience. In fact, you place so little value on experience that when what you experience of God differs from what you’ve heard of God, you automatically discard the experience and own the words, when it should be just the other way around.

“Your experience and your feelings about a thing represent what you factually and intuitively know about that thing. Words can only seek to symbolize what you know, and can often confuse what you know.

“These, then, are the tools with which I communicate, yet they are not the methods, for not all feelings, not all thoughts, not all experience, and not all words are from Me.

“Many words have been uttered by others, in My name. Many thoughts and many feelings have been sponsored by causes not of My direct creations. Many experiences result from these.

“The challenge is one of discernment. The difficulty is knowing the difference between messages from God and data from other sources. Discrimination is a simple matter with the application of a basic rule: Mine is always your Highest Thought, your Clearest Word, your Grandest Feeling. Anything less is from another source.

“Now the task of differentiation becomes easy, for it should not be difficult even for the beginning student to identify the Highest, the Clearest, and the Grandest. Yet will I give you these guidelines:

“The Highest Thought is always that thought which contains joy. The Clearest Words are those words which contain truth. The Grandest Feelings is that feeling which you call love.

“Joy, truth, love – these three are interchangeable, and one always leads to the other. It matters not in which order they are placed.”

I can see where Christians would have a hard time giving these words any credence – these words declare that our personal experiences should carry far more weight than the Bible carries in determining what is true for ourselves. These words indicate that my truth might be different from what is true for the person sitting next to me, and my truth might be different from what was true for the people who wrote the Bible.

Photo by Martin Chen

Based upon my own personal experiences, this idea makes perfect sense to me. And, it gives me reason to trust my innate inner voice – the one that was squashed down during my childhood – the one I’m seeking to raise up again to its rightful place in my soul.

I could feel a sense of purpose and peace moving into my body and mind as I read . . . and when the lady sitting in the office chair next to me – I was facing west and she was facing north – leaned back until the chair’s backrest was digging into my shoulder for the tenth time in 30 minutes, I could respond in a more charitable tone than I might have otherwise.

I asked her if she could please refrain from leaning that far back in her chair. She responded that she had a pinched sciatic nerve and that she really had to keep her leg stretched out in order to tolerate the pain . . . and that all the people crowded around her chair kept stepping on her foot . . .

I then asked her if maybe she could change the angle of her chair so that, when she leaned back, her chair’s backrest would go into a little pocket of open space . . . and, I kindly pointed out, that would put her foot into a part of the room away from the doorway which would mean less traffic movement around her foot . . . she thought that was a brilliant idea and immediately swiveled her chair a few degrees.

A few minutes later, the chair was back in its original position (digging into my shoulder) and her foot was back in the main flow of traffic. I think she enjoyed the attention . . . oh, well . . . this, too, shall pass . . .

[Continued in the next post . . . ]


Responses

  1. I do have some difficulties with Mr Walsch. I’ll be interested to see what you make of him.

    • Hey, Evan –

      Have you read his books or is this the first time you’ve heard of him?

      Yeah . . . his stuff isn’t for everyone . . . but, I think he recognizes that.

      – Marie

  2. I had heard of him before. He got a good deal of media when the books were first released. I have read the first one.


Leave a Reply

Categories

