Posted by: Marie | November 19, 2010

(448) Motorcycle goes, kitten stays

Post #448
[Private journal entry written on Tuesday, June 1, 2010]

I sold my motorcycle this weekend. I’ve had it for 13 years.

I haven’t ridden it in the last 18 or so months. I haven’t had the money to replace the tires and get some critical maintenance work done. So, it has been sitting.

It is really hard on bikes to sit. And, because I never dreamed it would be this long before I could ride it again, I didn’t drain the fluids. So, the gas and oil have been sitting in the bike for that long. I didn’t dare start it because I didn’t want the old fluids to move through the engine. But, I didn’t have the money to do the maintenance needed to replace the fluids and get the engine started again.

Photo by Martin Chen

I figured it was better to sell it now, before it sat any longer, and then buy another bike when I am in a better place financially. Also, by selling it, I don’t have to cover the $30/month expense of licensing and insurance.

I advertised it at a reduced price and with the disclosure it had not been started for so long. This one guy sent me an email with all kinds of great suggestions on how to improve my ad. He buys, fixes up then restores bikes for extra income. So, he knew what he was talking about. He said he already had too many bikes in his garage – otherwise he would buy it from me.

I followed some of his suggestions . . . then I got the flu and was too sick to follow any more of his suggestions. He kept checking up on me every few days to see if I was following his advice. Then, on Friday, I got an email saying he wanted to buy it. I guess, after two weeks of coaching me, he talked himself into it, LOL! He said he might keep it as his personal bike and sell off the bike he currently rides.

So . . . I’m motorcycle-less for the first time in over 20 years. It feels weird.

I am excited about the extra money. I know I’ll have enough to cover my expenses this summer and I’ll even have enough to cover an extra therapy session. If I schedule a session every two weeks during the summer instead of every three, I can fit that extra session in before I go back to my school district job in the fall. So, that’s my plan.

And, in other news . . .

No one wanted to adopt my foster kitty at the first open house last week. One more open house to go next week . . . we shall see what happens.

He has started sucking on my thumb and fingers – he gets this glazed blissful look on his face when he does it. It is weird, but sweet! He was hand-raised, so I guess it isn’t surprising he would tend to do that. But, it is strange to have an almost-full-grown cat sucking on my thumb! Maybe I need to get him a pacifier, LOL.

One more bit of news . . .

I have bartered for piano lessons from two teachers this summer – as in, I’ll be the student. Because I’m mostly self-taught, I’ve missed out on learning some of the advanced techniques I would have otherwise learned. I’m really looking forward to the lessons. I guess that means I’ll have to practice a lot!

I have a new student (as in, I’m the teacher) . . . a 17-year-old. He is quite advanced. In fact, he may play as well as I do . . . or close to it. However, he is very interested in music theory and composition. He knows very little about that, so I can teach him a lot. And, I can see his playing is not as mature as mine (color, richness, etc.) so I can help him with that. He’s gonna make me work hard to stay ahead of him! I look forward to the challenge!

If it gets to the point where I’m not benefiting him anymore, I’ll pass him along to my mentor.

And, finally . . .

I have a therapy session scheduled with Edward tomorrow. I’m very much looking forward to it . . .


Responses

  1. Sounds like you’re moving forward. Oh, envy you, I do. Great post, Marie!

    • Hey, Ivory –

      Thank you . . . it takes lots of hard work!

      – Marie


Leave a Reply

Categories

