Posted by: Marie | August 20, 2010

(383) Beginning of the end – 2:30pm

Post #383
[Private journal entry written on Thursday, March 4, 2010 – 2:30pm]

I did it.

This morning’s session was so bad that it has motivated me to get into action.

During the last hour, I did some research on therapists in the area – I extended my search to include all the nearby “bigger” towns since I’ve pretty much worked my way through all the therapists in our little town. (The lady from the Rotary Club who invited me to perform at Christmas is a therapist . . . the only other therapist in town . . . and we’d kill each other within the first two sessions, I’m sure!)

I picked out about 20 therapists whose profiles looked good to me at first blush. Then I looked into their specialties . . . I found ten that look like potential good fits.

So, I sent emails to the ten:

I live in northern Colorado and am looking for a new therapist to assist me on my healing journey. Would it be possible for me to schedule an interview with you?

If so, how long of an interview would you be willing to schedule? Would you charge a fee for the interview?

I am interviewing a number of therapists and it would be easier for me to manage the information I receive if you respond via email.

Thank you so much!

I need to do this for me. I hate that I have to do this. But, I need to do it for me.

I guess we shall see what happens.


Responses

  1. Looking forward to hearing about your next step(s).

    And congratulations on moving on.

    • Thank you, Evan . . . it was time!

  2. I remember looking for a therapist and I did the same thing, sent out some emails based on internet profiles. It seemed like such a random process…but at least I screened them by specialty as you did also.

    Only two responded, and then only one had an evening appointment available. So I’ve ended up seeing her…and it’s working out OK for now. Her first session was free, a meet and greet, so I could assess. However, as I didn’t much know how to assess beyond asking for her qualifications, I just went ahead with her. As I said, it’s working out OK so far.

    I live in a big city, and it’s not easy even here. It’s just a difficult process finding someone.

    Word of mouth is good, but I’m not going to go about telling people my issues and asking for a recommendation. So thank goodness for the internet.

    • Hey, Ellen –

      I agree . . . there are so many variables to consider in selecting a therapist. If someone is new to the idea of therapy and has no idea what to expect and what is “normal” and what would work best for his or her unique situation, it compounds the issue.

      It is true that the internet helps a bunch!

      – Marie


Leave a Reply

Categories

