Posted by: Marie | October 7, 2009

(158) Whitewater rafting

Post #158
[Private journal entry written on Friday, June 19, 2009 – evening]

Well, my mom and I survived our whitewater rafting trip on the Poudre River this afternoon . . . actually, it was downright fun! I really enjoyed myself and I believe she did, too. The weather was awesome – maybe 60-70 degrees (16-21 degrees Celsius) and mostly sunny – no wind. The water was surprisingly warm. The food was awesome; the people were warm and friendly. It was a good day all around.

The Island by Martin Chen

The Island by Martin Chen

My mom is a hoot – she was telling everyone that I blackmailed her into going on the raft, LOL.

Normally, the water is relatively high in mid-June because of the intense snow melt that occurs with the warmer weather. However, we have had milder weather, along with a bit of mountain snow, in the last few weeks. So, the snow melt has slowed considerably as of late. This means the river is a bit lower – and lower water levels mean more exposed rocks – and more exposed rocks means a wilder ride.

We were on the river about an hour, and traveled about four miles (6.4 km). We hit three or four “Class 4” rapids (including Mish Falls) – that classification is about as intense as one should attempt with inexperienced people. “Class 5” rapids should be attempted only by very experienced rafters/kayakers, and “Class 6” rapids are pretty much not passable. When my mom went on the raft two years ago (same group of people), the trip was classified as only a “Class 3” because the water was higher – so this year’s adventure was a bit wilder for her.

For those of you into Google Earth, I have a .kmz file of the rafting trip but WordPress won’t allow me to upload it to the blog. If you are interested in it, you can request it from me via email at magnalady1@aol.com. It is pretty cool if you run a tour of it – I recommend putting the camera range slide all the way to the left and the camera tilt slide all the way to the right. I also recommend a very slow speed to avoid vertigo, LOL.

We had seven people onboard (four with paddles, two without paddles and one pilot) on a 12’6” raft (3.8 meters). My mom and one other lady didn’t have to paddle, they just had to hang on. The pilot was her boss – he has been rafting all of his life and was a professional guide for many years. Plus, he has grown up in this area and knows that river like the back of his hand. I was very comfortable having him in charge of my mother’s safety.

He did an awesome job getting us down the river – and my mom was laughing and wise-cracking the entire time – pretty awesome for a tiny, 77-year old lady who is deathly afraid of water unless its in the shallow end of the swimming pool! I’m sure it helped that no one even came close to falling out of the raft . . . LOL.

And, it was a good way for me to reconnect with the “fearless” side of myself that has been in hiding recently.

Quotes 068


Responses

  1. I am so glad you had fun! I hope when I’m 77 my daughter takes me rafting, too! You are lucky to have each other.

  2. Hey, Ivory –

    I so agree . . . I am lucky to have such a cool mom! And, she seems to appreciate having me around. I am blessed!

    – Marie

  3. Glad you had a great time. At 77 I hope to be reading books quietly. An adrenalin junkie I’m not!

    • Hi, Evan –

      LOL . . . I guess my earlier statement rings true here, also! (“Someone has to be the yin to the yang of the wild children of the world!”)

      Thanks for your input!

      – Marie


Leave a Reply

Categories

