Posted by: Marie | May 7, 2009

(63) Disrespected in therapy

Post #63
[Journal entry written to my therapist on Wednesday, August 6, 2008 – 9am]

Hi, Mark –

I feel strongly that I need to write to you about the content of our session yesterday before you leave for Oklahoma . . . I didn’t include it in my first email because I wanted to think on it more in the daylight first . . and it was a separate topic.

As a result of our session, I feel very disrespected.

I was willing to have a conversation with you about religion because I felt like I might learn something – it is a conversation I enter into with very few people.  I came with an open mind.

A significant number of times, the following occurred during our session: you asked me what I believe – I answered – you boldly stated my beliefs couldn’t be true and you listed off reasons and proof why my beliefs couldn’t be valid.  I know you later tried to spin it as something else, but those are the words you repeatedly used.

My beliefs are my beliefs and you have no right to discount them.  My beliefs are valid because I choose them – whether or not they make sense to you is immaterial.  You were disrespectful and way out of line – as a person, as a friend and as a therapist.

– Marie


Responses

  1. Gosh, I dare ask if you have the same T. I would be so down-hearted if my T said those things to me.

    Sometimes, my T and I discuss religion because it is so strongly rejected by some of my alters. My T gives his opinions and he listens to mine, and then we discuss differences and everything surrounding my inability to reach out and be with God.

    I hope things are much better for you now.

    Ivory

    • Hi, Ivory –

      I’m so glad you can talk with your T about religion and your relationship with God — I believe that is so foundational in a healing journey!

      As for how things work out with my T — I guess you’ll just have to keep checking back to find out . . .

      It’s good to hear from you again!
      – Marie


Leave a Reply

Categories

